What’s on the other side of fear?

What’s on the other side of fear? Lately it’s been playing in my head to fear less and do more. This year I took baby steps towards things outside of my comfort zone. It’s amazing how often we all become comfortable in whatever the familiar is to us. It’s so easy to do. Even in discomfort we often try to find something to cling to, to make things more comfortable for us. Lately I keep telling myself I have to fear less and just do. In some regards I did that a tiny bit this year. But I guess I feel a pull to dig deeper. I realized on a deeper level this year to create the life I want takes intention, persistence and doing. I’ve been dreaming for far too long. I’ve been a dreamer from a very young age.

I’ve been wondering and seeking for quite sometime now as well. I still don’t have a clear cut idea of where I’m going. I just know I have to keep searching and enjoy the journey along the way. I know I’ll know it when I feel it. This is the first year I’ve gotten more feedback . I also tried on a few different hats this year. While I haven’t found my “it”, I’m proud that I’ve actually taken more steps this year. Often we have good intentions that we forget by March. But I put in more effort this year, and I’m proud of that.

I digress as usual. Why do we allow fear of the unknown to stifle or hinder us? While I overcame this in small ways this year, there is still lots of work to be done. In learning more of my family history this year, I realized the ways in which fear played out in the lives of others. Death is certain so why not give life your all. I often plague my mind with “what ifs” and I’m sure I’m not alone. So here’s to overcoming fear more , knowing that on the other side generally is growth albeit painful at times.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: The Quintessiental Butterfly | Grief Happens

Leave a Reply

