And so it seems. . .

I think it was Maya Angelou who said “Most people don’t grow up, they age.” Lately I’ve been doing a lot of  soul searching. In light of this process it’s caused me to really observe those around me, not that I don’t do that anyway. (tehehe) I’m realizing more and more that many people don’t mature they just age. I’m also realizing it seems that many people don’t want to mature and even avoid the process in various ways. I observe so many people going through the motions of doing “adult” things such as marriage, kids, buying a house,  paying bills etc. However none of these things are synonymous with maturity. Sure, it’s responsible to take care of your responsibilities, but in the sense of one acting mature not so much. Acting mature can be subjective, but hopefully you get my point. Pain and unresolved issues could be to attribute for so many adults that age but not mature. It amazes me how many adults seem like adolescents trapped in adult bodies. I’m sure for many of you this isn’t a newsflash. It’s something I began to observe about six years ago, but it’s hit me more so as  I reflect on those around me. There really is a distinct difference between aging and maturing. Well here’s to life and figuring it out as we go along.

Leave a Reply

